42.2km for the first time

One cold day in April, sat in the Banff Springs hotel I penned a short bucket-list: my life “wanna do” things. After all, I’ve been told that if you write them down there’s a greater likelihood that you’ll follow through – and besides, I had time to kill (my significant other was responding to emails – again!).

So number 5 on my list was “run a marathon”. I’d always been in awe of marathon runners and braved my first half marathon in October 2008. I knew that I needed a framework to follow and the commerarderie of other fellow marathon wanna-b’s, so, in June (acknowledging that the knees are not getting any younger) I registered for my first Running Room marathon training clinic. Now on week 13, I’ve managed to extend my 21 km running ability to as much as 32 km (well, 30 km in truth as I walked the last ~2 to Timmies), but still. Anything is pretty much possible if you commit and get out there. Turns out you don’t need to an endomorph twiglet to succeed. Yeah! 5 weeks and 4 days to race day to go. I’ll let you know how it goes. As told to me by Wolf at UHN’s wellness centre in 2007 and reminded by Richard Mendonca more recently: “the hardest part is signing up”.

About alirunner

Officially: Wellness Manager at UHN; background - Physiotherapy (what a portable profession that turned out to be!). Outside of work I'm a student (part-time U of T), mom of 2 teenagers (super, super scary) and wanna-be marathon runner with a first marathon goal date of October 16, 2011. Likes: FOOD, food and food (the real reason that I run), getting outdoors, seeing new places, G n T's and newly discovered carb-loaded gel packs that enable one to keep on running...What else? Arrived from UK 20 years ago to work in Canada for a year and still not visited Italy.

Leave a Reply

