Make an Appointment . . . with yourself!

We’ve heard it a MILLION times – schedule physical activity like you would an appointment such as one with your doctor – you have a set date, time, and location for where to be and when.  The same holds true for fitting in exercise to your daily routine.  I’m feeling the crunch this month and decided to listen to the advice I’ve been hearing and giving out for years – I’m making appointments with myself!  Yesterday, I emailed my husband and said, ‘Gym when we get home, groceries, dinner?’ and he agreed.  We went home, hit the gym, re-loaded the fridge, and made dinner.

Did you pick up on all of the appointments/commitments I made?

1) I partnered with a workout buddy:  Even if you don’t really feel like going to the gym, you’ve set a date with your workout buddy and it would be wrong to cancel on them.  This way you both end up working out even though you both wanted to bail.

2) Make an Appointment: I set the date, time, and location for when I was going to be physically active, so when I did arrive home, I knew I had to get on my workout gear and hit the gym to keep my appointment.

3) Write it Down: By emailing my husband I had actually written down my workout plans which brings up the topic of Goal Setting – you’re more likely to attain your goals if you write them down!  My goal was to get to the gym last night which I accomplished – yeah!!  When it comes to goal setting remember to make them SMART (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant/Realistic, Time-bound) goals and to write them down where you’re most liking to see them: on a post-it note beside your bed, on the bathroom mirror, on the fridge, or your front door.  Goals can be for today, next week, or next year – it’s all about what you want to accomplish!

Now get out your planner, Blackberry, IPhone, etc and make a date with yourself to be active!

Tags: ,

About Jav Girl

1) Background: - Originally from Guelph, ONT, - Honours Bachelor of Kinesiology from McMaster University, - Workplace Wellness & Health Promotion (WWHP) Post-Graduate Certificate from Centennial College - Completed my WWHP placement at UHN - Hired at UHN August 2008 2) Passions: - I love to run! Nothing beats a runner's high! =) 3) Achievements: - Competed at the National Track & Field Champions for Javelin [I named my javelin 'Orville' after the Wright brothers who invited the airplane - as I wanted my javelin to 'fly'] 4) "I love what I do because . . . it allows me to help others incorporate aspects of a healthy lifestyle into their lives. I've always wanted to help people get active and live better lives; I just never knew it could be my day job.' 5) Book Recommendation: 'Mindless Eating' by Brian Wansink and 'The Happiness Project' by Gretchen Rubin

Leave a Reply

