Wahoo! I can now officially call myself a marathoner (and I promise not to babble on about it further)

Wahooooooooo! (that speck in green is me) 42.2 – DONE! I feel so totally and utterly exhilerated and tired.  The wind blew and the rain visited momentarily, but it wasn’t enough to prevent me and several thousand others from crossing the finish line at today’s STWM. No records were broken by me (!), but I was able to walk afterwards – kinda – although I resembled someone with 2 wooden hips (similar tohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-hCuYjvw2I) Thankfully some young man gave me his seat on the subway ride home (its nice when the younger generation do that for the old folks)- especially as I monentarily thought that I might barf on my new crinkly foil wrap (I’m wearing it to work tomorrow). Fortunately that delightful feeling passed quickly so after the best soak in the tub ever while I sipped on a Timmies smoothie, I celebrated with fish and chips at Allen’s.  BIG thanks to anyone who braved the elements and cheered out there – it makes such a difference. Best sign of the day? “UR all NUTS!”. What an incredible, amazing  journey. To anyone else who ran 5km, half or marathon today – well done. Share your stories and photos…we want to see and share your amazing accomplishments!

About alirunner

Officially: Wellness Manager at UHN; background - Physiotherapy (what a portable profession that turned out to be!). Outside of work I'm a student (part-time U of T), mom of 2 teenagers (super, super scary) and wanna-be marathon runner with a first marathon goal date of October 16, 2011. Likes: FOOD, food and food (the real reason that I run), getting outdoors, seeing new places, G n T's and newly discovered carb-loaded gel packs that enable one to keep on running...What else? Arrived from UK 20 years ago to work in Canada for a year and still not visited Italy.

Leave a Reply

