To Plan or Not to Plan

Happy Monday Everyone!!

I hope everyone has had a great weekend, and is looking forward to a week full of fun and new ideas from my fitness and health blog. So today, I want to fill you in on how my week has gone. I had five days where I would be gone before sunrise, and wouldn’t be home until ten or so at night. What a busy week! A week like this would make anyone feel stressed, overtired, out of energy, hungry, etc. Plus not getting to the gym would be an issue, grabbing anything and everything to eat the second you walk in the door from not packing a lunch, not having enough “me time”. These are all problems that arise during our lives, but the real question is, who is willing to try and change that?? Who wants to stay on track??

Here’s how I stay focused during my week, the three P’s:

1. PLAN
2. PREPARE
3. PHYSICAL ACTIVITY

 

Number one is so important because “if you fail to plan, you plan to fail.” We’re not perfect but from my experience I can feel in control when I plan, and I am sure you will too. First thing’s first, plan your week. In your journal, day planner or smart phone track down at least 3 days of the week where you will get to the gym, walk around the block, attend lunch time yoga and if you need a little help and encouragement for fitness, come see me in the Wellness Center! If you schedule it, you’re more likely to go. You can’t skip a dentist appointment 30 minutes before, or you pay for it. Just like your fitness, if you skip that you pay physically and emotionally for it. Secondly, plan breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner. A helpful tool is our Canada Food Guide; use this for portion sizes, fruits and veggies, lean proteins, and healthy alternatives. Another guide that the UHN offers is a dietitian right on site and at an amazing price can personalize a diet for you today! I feel that when you plan your meals, it is less likely that you will find yourself in the cafeteria line for Harvey’s. So, Plan, plan, plan, and plan to succeed!

Number two, prepare. I cannot stop patting myself on the back for the amount of preparing/pre-packing I have done. From hard boiling half a dozen eggs, chopping the vegetables I put in my egg white omelette, to preparing my handy-dandy crock-pot all the night before. This I am sure has saved me at least an hour everyday, and who couldn’t use an extra hour in the day? I also find that preparing the healthy foods I love saves me from stopping at Tim Horton’s where my eyes graze the glazed donuts. Plus the great thing about preparing is that it helps me look at the nutritional value of my foods, like “do I have enough fruits and veggies in my lunch?” or “will I be satisfied with the amount of food I have,” and “is there enough protein in my diet.” These are all very important questions, and with more experience, and education you will soon be less likely to feel stressed, overwhelmed, hungry or aggravated and on the positive side of things, you can save quite a bit of money if you continue to prepare ahead of time. BONUS!

Last but not least, physical activity. Take for example the UHN’s WELLNESS mission statement, “Healthy Minds, Healthy Bodies, Healthy Organization.” I know what you might be thinking, exercise may feel like a chore, and it takes up a lot of your time, but TRUST ME, in the long run it’s saving you time, and who says physical activity and exercise aren’t fun? When’s the last time you updated your ipod? I’m sure your new favourite song on the radio would get you pumped up for a lunch time walk! When’s the last time you tried a new aerobics class? A little Zumba, or Spin class would put a smile on your face! All I’m saying is that, exercise can feel like a break from reality. It clears your head and lets you work more productively for the rest of the day. It triggers “feel good” hormones leaving you happier and less likely to feel the afternoon drowsiness and when you’re happy, you’re more likely less stressed! To conclude my rant on physical activity, I would like to use a quote byLou Holtz for you to think about for the week, “Ability is what you’re capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it.”

Just a few reminders:

· We will be having a new exercise tip of the month, so make sure to check your emails!
· An amazing, “must try” comforting Taco Chicken crock-pot meal posted on Wednesday.
· Don’t forget to register for the good life at GoodLife Fitness(literally, it’s amazing there), so come drop by the Wellness center beside Tim Horton’s any time from 8am- 5pm to sign up!
· And don’t forget about the 3 P’s!

I hope to hear from you all, and stay tuned for more exciting topics to be blogged!

About EMpulsive

When I find out more about myself I will fill you in! #emexplores

2 responses to “To Plan or Not to Plan”

  1. Heather says :

    Excellent Article!!! I love the quote from Lou Holtz

    I like the saying if you fail to plan u plan to fail – Funny I have that as one of the many quotes in front of my telephone as an inspiration here in my office

    Heather

Leave a Reply

