Positive changes you can count on!

A new start, a new you! We’re ready to make changes but wait… we need to determine what the key ingredient is to achieve our desired outcomes… a new goal!

Setting a S.M.A.R.T. goal is how we determine if it is achievable…Look at the long term, and picture where you want to be… imagine how you feel, and what it looks like, and how your goal will change your life, this is your long term goal… Now break that down into steps on how to get there… imagine overcoming obstacles, and picture how it makes you feel to be following through with your plan, this is your short term goal.

Specific– Set a goal that is specific to your needs.  Think about what you really want, and decide on a specific way to achieve that… Ask yourself “what will this goal get me?” and be honest with yourself.

Example:

“I will achieve my weight loss goal by tracking the food I eat each day.”

“By following the good health guidelines, from Canada’s Food Guide, I will teach myself to incorporate more fruits and vegetables into my diet, and live a healthier lifestyle.”

“I will exercise 3 times a week for 30 minutes.”

Measurable– How will you measure your set, specific goal? 

Example:

“I will measure my waist to hip ratio every other month on the 1st of the month”

“I will weigh myself once a week to assure I am staying on track with my new healthy lifestyle.”

“I will measure and weigh my food with measuring cups and an electronic scale.”

Attainable– stop and think, “Is this something I can achieve?” Setting a goal that seems so different, or so far away from where you are currently can be very hard to attain, and actually very frustrating and overwhelming… feeling overwhelmed by your new change can be very discouraging and this should be something you are excited about, so why not set a goal that is set for a shorter period, and that almost seems easy to you, that way you definitely set yourself up for success and not failure.

Example:

“I will walk twice a week, during my lunch break at work for the next 4 weeks.” NOT “I will walk before work, during my lunch break, and after dinner for 30 minutes, each day…”

“I will lose 10lbs in 2.5 months.”

Realistic– Let’s be realistic with our goal, changing your lifestyle does not happen overnight, it’s a journey, and we need to take small steps in order to learn that this is a lifetime goal, not a race … Also, realistically we need to take the matter into our own hands, don’t wait for someone else to change you, or change with you…

Example:

A healthy weight loss is 1-2 lbs/ week… We cannot say we want to lose 30 lbs in one month, this is unfortunately unrealistic, dangerous, and only setting us up for failure… Choose a goal that is realistic by seeking help from a physician, personal trainer, or a professional in the industry.

“I will lose 1 lb/ week.” NOT “I will lose 20lbs in 1 month.”

“I’ll be going to the gym, with or without you!” NOT “I was going to go to the gym, but my workout buddy bailed on me…”

Time– Choose a time frame for your goal, a long and short term that allows you to be specific about what you want, that is going to be measurable during this time, that is attainable for this time frame, and that is realistically reachable in this period.  Give yourself enough time to really learn about this new lifestyle, and time to make those small changes.  When we rush things, or overdo something

Example:

“I will learn a new behaviour every month that will help me slowly reach my goals.” NOT “I will live as if I am an athlete tomorrow…”

 

change3change2change

EMBRACE CHANGE! 2013 is definitely a year of progression!

About EMpulsive

When I find out more about myself I will fill you in! #emexplores

One response to “Positive changes you can count on!”

  1. Kayte says :

    You are so inspirational! This is totally doable and they way you break it down makes it less overwhelming! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

