Papaya Spice Muffins

This delicious recipe has been shared by Barbara Prud’homme, Health Coach.  More of her fantastic recipes can be found here at Healthy Peas, Happy Pod.

Enjoy!

Early this morning, I peeked into my fridge and spotted a big tupperware box full of delicious, chopped up papaya. I didn’t really feel  like having it fresh, so I started to think about what I could make with it.  Slice it up and use it over a toasted English muffin? Tempting, but no. Chop it up into oatmeal? Could be yummy, but that wasn’t just what I wanted. Then it hit me – I had also been craving pumpkin  muffins for awhile, so why not try out some new, healthy, and exciting…Papaya Spice Muffins!! 🙂

Before I tell you all about my recipe, here are some reasons why papaya is amazing.   Not only  do they have a luscious taste, they  are rich sources of antioxidant nutrients, B vitamins, potassium, magnesium, and fiber. These nutrients promote cardiovascular system health and also provide protection against colon cancer. In addition, papaya contains the digestive enzyme, papain, which is used to treat sports injuries, other causes of trauma, and allergies!  Awesome!

 

Ok, so to make my amazing Papaya Spice Muffins, I adapted a classic pumpkin muffin recipe. Obviously, I subbed in papaya for pumpkin, but I also upped the ginger content – ginger and papaya are good friends in the kitchen 🙂 Next time, I may try adding some raisins, toasted almonds, or oats into the batter. I also thought that these could be super yummy with coconut milk instead of almond milk. Then again, these turned out so awesome this time that I may just repeat the recipe as is! If you want to try to make some, here’s what you need…

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • ¾ cups whole wheat flour2 tsp (10 mL) baking powder
  • ½ tsp each; cinnamon, nutmeg, salt
  • ¾  tsp ginger
  • 2 eggs
  • ½  cup coconut sugar
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp  pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup puréed papaya

 Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F and grease 12 muffin cups (or line with paper liners).
  1. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and salt.
  1. In a large bowl, whisk eggs, brown sugar blend, oil, milk and vanilla. Add papaya purée and blend. Add dry ingredients and stir until well combined.
  2. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean.

And voila, you will have 12, perfectly fluffy and delicious Papaya Spice Muffins! I thoroughly enjoyed mine – and it totally reminded me how much fun it is to experiment in the kitchen and listen to what your intuition tells you about trying new flavour combinations. Have you made anything fun lately?  Tell me all about i!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

