Words Can Sabotage your Health Efforts!

Do you find yourself saying, “I’ll go to the gym, but it’s just such a hassle to get there!” or “I’m trying to diet, but I’m deprived of all my favourite foods!”?

Did you know that the words you choose can help or hinder your efforts of achieving your goals of weight loss and being healthy? The authors of Change Anything have researched the impact our words have on our behaviour. These authors found that if you continuously use negative words and focus on the not-so-pleasant parts of the tasks you are doing to achieve your health goals, your brain will continuously focus on these negative things. You may get stuck in a rut and eventually give up all efforts because you’re singularly focused on the negative. Instead, try and see positives in everything you’re doing. For example change: “I’ll go to the gym, but it’s just such a hassle to get there” into “I’m going to the gym so that I can feel good and run the 10k marathon at the end of the summer!” and change “I’m trying to diet, but I’m deprived of all my favourite foods!” into “I am working hard to eat the right things so that I can fit into a new pair of jeans!”. The more you think positively and choose positive words, the easier it is for your brain to link your efforts into being a positive thing. Don’t sabotage your efforts by simply using negative words. It’s your time to shine! Get out there, no matter how difficult it is and make the best of it!

For more information, read Change Anything: The New Science of Personal Success by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, David Maxfield, Ron McMillan, and Al Switzer

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

