Welcome to the first Spiritual Wellness Blog!

Hello friends,

My name is Moe Anderson and I work as a Spiritual Care Professional at UHN.  When I started here I received the Wellness Newsletter and enjoyed all of the articles.  I suggested that perhaps we might consider putting articles into the newsletter about spiritual wellness and practices that promote spiritual wellbeing.  I was beyond thrilled when they accepted my offer and are also allowing me to blog.  So my first blog is answering the questions “What is Spirituality?”  Spirituality is that part of our life that helps us to make meaning. It is that place where we connect deeply with ourselves and others.  While it can include religious practices, it can also be found in many activities and creative expressions.  So much of life is spiritual if we have eyes to see it.  Our spiritual wellbeing has the power to influence our mental, physical, emotional and intellectual well-being so it is important to be attentive to our spiritual lives and I hope that the blogs over the coming weeks will give you food for thought, some new ways of living and promote spirituality.

In her poem “Birdsong” Rumi writes, “Please universal soul, practice some song or something through me!”  I hope that as I have the opportunity to live out my dream of writing that I will open the path for you to connect to something that has deep value for you and you will find new places of meaning and hope in your lives.

Many staff are not aware that Spiritual Care is available for you too!  If you would like to speak with a Spiritual Care Professional, check to see if one is assigned to your area.  If not, you can contact us through paging.  We are available 7 days of the week from 0830-2300hrs.

Tags: , ,

About uhnspiritualcare

Spiritual Care Professional to Toronto Western Hospital with the University Health Network.

3 responses to “Welcome to the first Spiritual Wellness Blog!”

  1. Heather says :

    Thanks Moe, I enjoy reading your article

  2. seeker says :

    Wonderful, Health care in Spirituality. I am open to this idea and will look forward to your post.

  3. Jacob563 says :

    I enjoyed reading through your blogs . . . just wanted to let you know I added your blog to my blogroll.

    Back To Health Wellness Center

Leave a Reply

